SMART MEGA EVENTS

Hold big events more efficiently and add value with IT infrastructures

Open-air concerts, parades, sports competitions – cities offer a variety of cultural, political and sports events. More and more frequently they are held as public events that attract thousands of visitors from within city limits and beyond. Safe and well-organized events are therefore an important economic factor in a city and an important aspect of how citizens and tourists perceive the city.

In order to provide the visitors with a rewarding, comfortable and safe event, organizers and the appropriate authorities are faced with demanding and constantly increasing challenges during the planning phase, organization and realization. After all, organizers and government agencies are responsible for the trouble-free organization and the safety of visitors. At the same time, expenses and the work load have to be kept below a certain limit.

Bild Smart Mega Events

Innovative information and communication technologies offer a solution for these challenges and thereby reinforce the reputation of a city. For this purpose, Fraunhofer FOKUS is researching and developing a system for smart mega events that provides a mobile and flexible, sensor-based IT infrastructure. Public mega events in cities are holistically supported during realization because the system allows for the optimal and effective collaboration of all involved actors. It supports the organizer in the core issues organization, safety, logistics and cost-effectiveness and enhances the experience of the participant. He or she experiences the event as safe, professionally organized and of high-quality.

In order to achieve this, the smart mega events infrastructure collects a wide spectrum of information at the venue and its vicinity in real time. A central data processing platform combines information regarding current environmental, traffic and other sensors, mobile sensor stations with communication interfaces and, on a voluntary basis, information that is collected and made available by participants and audience members using their mobile devices. This data is evaluated and constantly amended and updated in order to create a variety of added values and security services for visitors, organizers, security personnel as well as the city itself.

The smart-mega-event infrastructure also enables comprehensive information flow in real time between all participants of an event. This innovative approach makes possible new applications that involve reciprocal sharing of information on different abstraction levels as well as between different target groups.

SMART MEGA EVENTS

Großveranstaltungen mit IT-Infrastrukturen effizienter umsetzen und Mehrwerte schaffen

Open-Air-Konzerte, Paraden und Sportwettkämpfe – Städte bieten vielfältiges Angebot an kulturellen, politischen und sportlichen Veranstaltungen. Immer häufiger werden diese als öffentliche Events realisiert, die Tausende Besucher über die Stadtgrenzen hinweg anziehen. Sicher und gut organisierte Veranstaltungen sind deshalb ein wichtiger Wirtschaftsfaktor für eine Stadt und ein wichtiger Aspekt in der Wahrnehmung der Stadt durch Einwohner und Touristen.

Um Besuchern eine lohnende, bequeme und sichere Veranstaltung zu bieten, stehen die Organisatoren und die entsprechenden Behörden bei der Planung, Organisation und Durchführung vor anspruchsvollen und ständig wachsenden Herausforderungen. Schließlich verantworten Veranstalter wie Behörden die störungsfreie Durchführung und die Sicherheit aller Teilnehmer. Zur gleichen Zeit dürfen Ausgaben und Arbeitsaufwand ein angemessenes Höchstmaß nicht überschreiten.

Bild Smart Mega Events

Innovative Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien lösen diese Herausforderungen und stärken so die Reputation einer Stadt. Daher erforscht und entwickelt Fraunhofer FOKUS ein System für Smart Mega Events, das eine mobile und flexible, sensorbasierte IT-Infrastruktur bereitstellt. Öffentliche Großveranstaltungen in Städten werden damit ganzheitlich in der Umsetzung unterstützt, denn das System ermöglicht eine optimale und effektive Zusammenarbeit zwischen allen beteiligten Akteuren. Es unterstützt die Veranstalter bei den Kernthemen Organisation, Sicherheit, Logistik und Wirtschaftlichkeit. Für den Teilnehmer steigt die Erlebnisqualität: Er erlebt die Veranstaltung als sicher, professionell durchgeführt und qualitativ hochwertig.

Um dies zu erreichen, sammelt die Smart-Mega-Events-Infrastruktur am Veranstaltungsort und seiner nahen Umgebung ein breites Spektrum an Informationen in Echtzeit. Eine zentrale Datenverarbeitungsplattform kombiniert Informationen von bestehenden städtischen Umwelt-, Verkehrs- und anderen Sensoren, mobilen Sensorstationen mit Kommunikationsschnittstellen  und – auf freiwilliger Basis – Informationen, die von Teilnehmern und Zuschauern über ihre mobilen Geräte erfasst und zur Verfügung gestellt werden. Diese Daten werden ausgewertet und ständig ergänzt und aktualisiert, um so eine Vielzahl an Mehrwert- und Sicherheitsdienstleistungen für Besucher, Organisatoren, Sicherheits- und Einsatzkräfte sowie der Stadt selbst zu schaffen.

Die Smart-Mega-Event-Infrastruktur ermöglicht also einen umfassenden Informationsfluss in Echtzeit zwischen allen Beteiligten einer Veranstaltung. Dieser innovative Ansatz ermöglicht neue Anwendungen, in denen Informationen wechselseitig geteilt werden – sowohl auf unterschiedlichen Abstraktionsebenen als auch zwischen unterschiedlichen Zielgruppen.